Winter [English] Camps in Korea

For me, January will be a month of English camps. Students are on break from regular public school classes until February 1st. They return for 2 weeks, then Lunar New Year's ends the semester. The 6th graders move on to middle school and all the students, given they have passed their classes of course, move up a grade.

My employer, the Ulsan Metropolitan Office of Education (MOE), has written in their contract that Native English Teachers (that's me) will participate in both winter and summer English camps. The benefits are:

  • I still earn my wages in spite of the fact that my school doesn't have classes.
  • I actually earn MORE wages, b/c I teach more than the contract 22 classes per week.  They pay overtime at a decent rate, so it will nearly double my January salary.
  • Fresh faces to teach.
  • Get to work with other Native Teachers in the same location.
  • Get to actually work with co-teachers who WANT to teach with you and who are actually IN the room, focused on the lesson(s).

The first 3 weeks of January will consist of working at a rural elementary school [yes, even more rural than my school],

teacher 3rd, 4th and 5th graders. The coordinators made it so that each of the Native English Teachers (5 of us in total) get the variety of teaching each of the three levels (beginner, intermediate and advanced) from two different books.

The last week, I will be at my school teaching an English camp for 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th graders. I am looking forward to that week as I will get the priviledge of working with two teachers from my school, one of whom has befriended me in a time I needed it most. Bless the Lord!

 

I am not really big on having folks take pictures of me teaching– it seems a bit akward. However, I know pictures have been taken by staff, so if I can get copies, I will post them here. 🙂

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

