Bali~ Take 2

My first trip to Bali was filled with lots of sightseeing and moving around the island. However, last summer, I spent a month in Bali and basically just chilled on the beach in SANUR, got massages everyday, walked a lot, ate some fantastic food and hung out with  friends. Since my first blog has most of the touristy stuff, I wasn’t going to blog about my second trip, but decided to give some updated info and tips that weren’t included in the last blog. Here it is in short form:

Note: entry visa (for US citizens) is now $35 not $25.

The Areas

Kuta: party, backpacker area. Lots of shopping, nightlife, a great beach and not too far from the airport.

Seminyak: Right next to Kuta. Best place to watch the sunset. Must go beachside at least one evening to enjoy the music, food and sunset. This is a higher end of the budget (for hotels) area but if you don’t know the area well, you won’t know where Kuta ends and Seminyak begins. Huge department store shopping here as well. Posh party area.

Sanur: A much more chill side of the island. This is where most of the speed boats port to/from the Gillis, Lombok, Lembongan, etc. Known for having an older retired expat community. LOVE THIS AREA because it’s not overcrowded and so touristy (compared with Kuta and Ubud). Plus, my friends are there. This is where I rented an apartment for the month.

Ubud is another place in Bali that is a good place to visit. Monkey temple… don’t take snacks in your bag. Haaha It’s a bit touristy in Ubud too but if you like Yoga that is THE PLACE. The rice fields there are quite nice to look at as well.

You must go to the GILLI Islands (Avoid Gilli T overnight if you’re alone, either of the other two would be fine) you can take a speed boat (Recommended company on my first blog). But do stay at least one night and do a snorkeling day trip.

Lembongan (Island) is AMAZING too. There are tons of hostels if you get off the boat and walk to the main road. People will try to hassle you (in the name of helping) to find a hostel for you. If you don’t mind giving them a cut, it’s easier that way. Sunset (where the boat drops off) is a must. They gather the seaweed at that time and it’s gorgeous.

Getting Around

SUPER IMPORTANT: if you’re gonna take a taxi, only take BLUEBIRD GROUP. They are honest and regulated. They have the website on the car and a car number. DON’T BE FOOLED BY LOOK-A-LIKES… website must be there. Others’ meters are rediculous.

A bemo is basically a minivan with the doors optional. If you take a bemo, don’t negotiate a price. Get in, tell them when to stop, pass them the money (Indonesians pay 4-5,000 IDR, but you’ll likely pay a bit more, not double that though) and get out. They will likely try to get more, just walk away. This, of course, depends on where you’re going. If you’re just riding down the street, take a bemo. If you’re going to another area, take a taxi.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bali~ Take 2

  1. Erika says:

    VERY helpful about Bluebird Group! Great info overall 🙂

  2. Tara says:

    Hello! Thank you for your blog post! I know the Gili Islands don’t have police, but I’m curious of why not to stay on Gili T. if traveling alone?

    • kasham says:

      Hi, Tara. I didn’t feel comfortable being out after dark alone there. Men would grab me and ask if I want a boyfriend for the night or if I want to get high with them. I’m not into that, & I was just looking to relax, have good food and perhaps a drink but opted for going to my room shortly after sunset. Just wouldn’t stay there alone again. I am VERY CONFIDENT in my self defense skills but why have to use them!?

      • Tara says:

        Ahh, I see. Ignore my other comment. Sounds uncomfortable and potentially scary. Stranger danger!

    • Erika says:

      I spent a few days in Gili Air; I walked around alone after dark my first night there just to kinda see whats what and felt a little uncomfortable (which does NOT happen often or easily), especially because of the lack of street lights. One night before sun down I also witnessed a man jacking off near a construction site; nothing I haven’t seen before though on the trains in Chicago. I wouldn’t let it keep you from going out, but I would recommend going somewhere near your accommodations.

      • kasham says:

        Erika, We’re in the same boat. For me to feel uncomfortable is very uncommon. I have lots of “street smarts” so when my inner alarms go off, I heed the warnings. Stay safe, enjoy uour travels.

  3. Tara says:

    Nevermind! lol Read the first part now. I understand that you were getting cat-called and people were “partying”, but did you feel that unsafe because of it?

Leave a Reply

